Women Reading Hard SF at WisCon

Last year at WisCon I did my first reading, and it was so much fun, I want to do it again.

I want to thank Haddayr Copley-Woods, M. Rickert, Theodora Goss, and Kat Beyer for their support and kindness in letting me read with them, especially since it was such a last minute run-for-the-train kind of thing.

So now I’m trying to be all pro-active and stuff in asking:

Hey, who wants to do a reading at WisCon with me?

I’ve learned that one of the things that helps reading cohesion and attendance is A Theme. There are a myriad of themes out there for the choosing. But I’d like to go with something that I don’t see much of, and yet I hear a lot of fuss about–and that’s women writing and reading Hard Science Fiction.

I love science fiction of all (okay, most) stripes, but I really want to promote the science in science fiction. In the 21st century, folks are still saying that women aren’t interested in science, that they can’t do science–and every time women write science fiction, those who are apparently the arbiters of such thing move the bar on what’s considered hard.

You may very well argue that such categories are spurious, and I get you, I really do. On the other hand, categories can also be a useful marketing strategy. They let your agent pitch your work, they give the art department an idea for the covers, they allow your publisher to send ads out to relevant periodicals.

Some folks see categorization as limiting–I personally see such limits as opportunities.

So who’s with me? Who wants to read their hard science fiction writing (story, segment of novel) at WisCon with me?

Reading: 4 -5 people, 10-12 minute segment per person.

Hard SF: Here’s a reasonable definition from wikipedia —

Let me know at my email at freckles_36@hotmail.com .

Leave a Reply

